Order of the Eastern Star

The Order of the Eastern Star is a fraternal order related to the Masons. One of the only fraternal organization open to both men and women, the Order boasts a membership of close to a half-million people. It was formed by Rob Morris in Boston, Massachusetts in 1850. Notable members include Clara Barton and Laura Ingalls Wilder.


The points of the star represent five heroines from the Old and New Testaments: Adah, Ruth, Esther, Martha and Electa. The letters FATAL stand for the motto of the Order, “Fairest Among Thousands, Altogether Lovely.”



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: